|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
An old unauthorized version of our website recently got high rankings as a result of the changes in google.
The pages sat on the business site of a guy who used to host our site 2 years ago. We changed hosts because of a variety of inadequate services. When we did this we never spoke with the guy. At that time we knew NOTHING about the web. We never contacted the guy for 2 years. Our pages sat on his site as a sample of his work with clients. We never contacted the guy...we didn't even know about duplicate content and dupleicate content penalties. Slowly over time we got high rankings and this guys pages disappeared from rankings in all search engines. With the changes in google in February his site bounced back up for relevant search phrases. We contacted the guy in Feb and told him to remove the site for duplicate content. With several emails we escalated the points telling him we would contact his host, contact the search engines and ultimately contact an attorney. In two subsequent changes he first kept the site but made some changes including saying his site was a demonstration site and adding adsense ads that our competitors (and us) can advertise on. In a response he removed the pages but now has a personal attack on a page that attacks our business, our web site (and me) and still shows high for certain money keywords. So what do we do? We contacted google about spamming. We will contact MSN and Yahoo. We may go to his host...and we are contacting our attorney. All suggestions appreciated. Dave |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
A long time ago (when I was still new to the web) I managed my boss' websites and domains. He had me register a domain name that was the name of a competitor (why they hadn't done this yet is beyond me). Well, that guy got snippy and filed a suit. I had to get deposed for 3 hours and, in the end, they just settled for transfer of the domain name (after both sides has spent way more than it was worth). We never actually hurt this guy, mind you, we just did something to annoy him.
Internet laws have changed since the end of that lawsuit. If he owns a domain name that's similar to yours you could probably file a copyright infringement lawsuit, especially if he's got your old content and you have proof of the previous malicious activity (might have to subpeona G's Adword records to get good proof tho). Content alone might not be enough. My 2 cents... get your lawyer to write a cease and desist letter to this guy. Even if nothing happens you will have a platform to stand on as you've let this guy know your position in a legal manner. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
We got a hold of our lawyer.
Personnally I favor the Soprano's methods. Dave |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
I need help on this. Any other ideas?
Dave |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Is this page aggressively or influentially defamatory toward you? If so you could always file a defamatory suit. (you could only do this of course if he has literally dragged your name through the mud) Id approach his host, and let them know of the copyright issue. If you can prove that the content was originally written by yourself, for yourself, Im sure the host will promptly send him a cease and desist letter themselves. After all its on their servers, therefore they are just as liable as he is. IF all else fails, simply send him a cease and desist email yourself every 2 days. Hopefully he might get sick of them and decide to comply just for the sake of getting you off of his back. (if he doesnt just block your emails of course) you could also send it to him in physical form. (by mail) |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Matt mentioned that Google realy does read all of the email sent to the feb05update@googlegroup.com email. Might be one way of getting it in front of their noses, although he also said you won't get a response (in email).
Legal letters to his ISP might help you too. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks guys. We are already taking some of these steps.
I'm personally of the two-by-four to the head philosophy...but these steps are better. All help appreciated. Dave |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well I'd certainly submit his site/email addy to one (or more) of the "Submit your site to 100s of Search Engines" services, just for fun (all with the best intentions of course)
![]() |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
I like that idea Wit. (And by responding I keep pushing this thread up for more help!!!)Dave |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Which G email address did you use to report the bad stuff? Did you use the feb05 one or just something like webmaster@google.com?
|
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
I used this: http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html .
Obtained by searching the google site for "reporting spam" Dave |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
If I were you, and if that old friend of yours came to the surface because of the Superbowl* update, then I'd try the feb05 address as well. Just don't spam it (LOL).
* I still don't know what "Allegra" means... What IS that?
__________________
...please help me w/ the real Redscowl Bluesingsky...how2 check backlinks...now postin' @ SEO Refugee ...
·<°`)~ LOL now that I finally have a paypal account, I'm charging 19,- for SEO advice via PM. Seriously... |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
What is and where can I get the google 2/05/address? I remember reading something about it but can't find the reference.
Dave |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
I bet randfish got it just right - above
That's a coincidence though - I agree that it's hard to find if you search for it (I tried that yesterday) * or was it googlegroups*? Sorry I can't remember... Last edited by Wit : March 2nd, 2005 at 11:11 AM. |
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks:
I need to read more closely. The glare off of Randfish's yellow shoes is still blinding me! Dave |