Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

How much should your average "SEOer" be payed?

Hi,

Let me explain my current situation, I have been learning about SEO for around 3 years now. Basically self-taught with alot of great advice from this very forum

Over the last 3 years I have been reading up on the subject, while performing SEO duties for my boss's website on a part-time basis. In this time, I have got the website into at least the top 5 for all our highly competitive core keywords within Google.

I recently got told that my boss could not offer me anymore work at this time, as the development team are too busy, whatever that means.

So I visited various IT job websites in-order to see if I could get a SEO related vacancy, but as I have taught myeslf and only worked for the one website, I was unsure if I was good enough.
    Fortunately all the potential employers that have contacted me (around 20) seem to be very impressed by the search engine rankings I have achieved in my previous job. With at least a top 5 position for highly competitive, core keywords.

On that back of that, I have been in regular contact with two of the SEO companies in my local area, who are willing to offer me a per project vacancy. Although I have a problem as they are asking me how much I charge for optimising their site, because I have been self taught, and only worked on the one site (in-house) I have no idea what I should be asking for? Or what I am worth?

Anyone able to give me some pointers?
  3. Roll the dice.. and live
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Originally Posted by pagi
    Hi,

Let me explain my current situation, I have been learning about SEO for around 3 years now. Basically self-taught with alot of great advice from this very forum