1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

SEO certification is it worth it?

Hi all,

I'm new to SEO and have been reading a few books here and there and watched a number of begginner SEO videos on Youtube. I started developing an interest in this subject because my husband runs a local pet sitting business and he needed someone to perform digital marketing for his company. As I learn more and more about SEO, I realize how important it is to businesses in today's world and I would like to turn this into my profession. I have been searching through some courses online with price range from $20USD to $500USD+. As a beginner, I would like to get some recommendation on which course teaches SEO more in depth and which one is worth my money. Thank you for your time.
  3. Super Moderator
    SEO Chat Skiller (1500 - 1999 posts)

I'm a bit short of time but wanted to post before I went to work.

There's no such thing as an SEO certification, it's usually a load of rubbish.

The best way to learn SEO is to setup your own site and go play, test things out and ask questions on forums like this.

Read articles like: https://moz.com/beginners-guide-to-seo

Look at sites that are ranking locally and try and break them down to why. Take a look at ecommerce sites and compare the product pages to see what the diference are to rank better.

I'll actually be doing a blog post in the next couple of weeks on "how to learn seo" because it's something that I think is still confusing to a lot of people, will see if I can get it done sooner.

Comments on this post

• Pierre Benneton agrees
    • Test-ok agrees
    Always happy to help in private message. | Learn about my latest project Can You Get Automated Pages To Rank In Google?
    Useful Links: Useful SEO Tools | GTmetrix | FileOptimizer | Cloudflare
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi Thomas,

Thank you for your answer. Do you have any SEO books you would recommend reading?
  7. SEO Since 97