|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Is This AltaVista??? -> trek28.sv.av.com
trek28.sv.av.com has been on one of my sites for 5 hours so far. Is it an AltaVista crawler?
|
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
for me it looks like one.
What's the IP?
__________________
Birthe |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
It is indeed Altavista
Take a look at: http://samspade.org/t/lookat?a=trek28.sv.av.com
__________________
Darrin J. Ward, a Professional SEO Consultant and Original Founder of SEO Chat (this site), Google Dance Tool & some other cool stuff! * Rankings Reporter - Track your Website's Keyword Rankings in Google & Yahoo. * ChatButton - Free AJAX Chatboxes to embed onto any Webpage - super-easy copy/paste setup!. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Darrin,
In a similar subject, do you know of anything bad or good about the crawler InternetSeer.com uses? I don't see any good in this bot, other than if you use Internet Seer to report the server status of your page. I dont use them but most of my sites get hit by there bot and I receive there emails now and then. I would like to avoid getting hit. Do you know the correct way to code this in the robots.txt file. Is this correct? User-agent: InternetSeer.com Disallow: /
__________________
Rank Smart Search Marketing - Search Engine Roundtable - Search Marketing Association - North America |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
A better way to block internetseek would be to ban them in your .htaccess file / httpd.conf file... I have not tracked them at all and cannot think of any good.
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Pheonix, that is the correct way.
You can read more about Robots here http://www.searchengineworld.com/robots/robots_tutorial.htm |
![]() |
| Viewing: SEO Chat Forums > Search Engines > Search Engines - Classic > Is This AltaVista??? -> trek28.sv.av.com |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|