1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Structure Advice

I'm a programmer for a network of directory sites (as in business listing directories, phone numbers, etc.). I've just taken over our search engine optimization work from another person, and I've been doing a lot of research on what I can do to improve it. In my research there was one topic which is very central to our site's structure that I couldn't find any conclusive information on... so I thought I would ask here.

1. We have a large number of domain names which target specific cities - ie ournamelasvegas.com, ournamechicago.com, ournamelosangeles.com - over 50 of these for most of the major cities in the United States.

2. We also have the site setup so that going to something like lasvegas-nevada.ourname.com limits the search to the appropriate city, without making someone choose their city before looking up a listing.

3. It would be just as easy for me to set it up as ourname.com/las-vegas-nevada/...

These specific cities each have a large number of unique data that isn't shared with the other cities in the site, but common elements of the design (such as the homepage) are very similar with only slightly varied text (just where the name of the city appears).

What would you suggest I do with this? Is it hurting me to have the different domains and subdomains? Shoud I eliminate these and do a folder instead, or should I stick with one of the two currently employed methods, or what?

I'd appreciate any advice.

Thanks, if you took the time to read this!
  3. No Profile Picture
    EGOL
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

You don't mention your current traffic/profitability so I assume that you are not pleased with it.

Also when I read #1 and #2 it sounds like you are showing the same content under two URL's. If that is the case you can get into problems that way.