1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Site Layout and SEO Question

Hello Everyone,

Please forgive me if this has been asked before. I am new to all of this and I am not sure what to look for on here.

I am getting ready to develop my sites for my company and multiple brands and I am hope to optimize them for SEO and prevent being black flagged for duplications and improper redirects.

I have created a diagram of what I was thinking, but I am not sure if I have my head screwed on straight when I am thinking about this.

• I currently own the three domains at the top of the diagram.
    • Each domain has its own root folder.
    • I will be using Wordpress for the Brand 1 & 2 sites. (Which I have never used before - I am use to Joomla, but I keep hearing Word press is better and I found some nice templates).
    • Is there a better way of dealing with the landing pages?

Like I said at the top, I am very new to this and I greatly appreciate any recommendations.

Thanks for your time.

Bill
  3. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Couple of things I don't understand:

1) Why does Brand 2 link to Brand 1 in so many ways?
    2) Why so many domains (city-brand1service-1.com, etc)? This would give you lots of sites with shallow content (not good for SEO). It would be better to have brand1domain.com/city/ which gives that domain more content.
    Learn SEO and Online Marketing with Doodleddoes or follow me on Google+ at https://plus.google.com/+TimHillDoodled/
  5. No Profile Picture

As for the cross linking of the brands, my initial thoughts were to allow potential customers to be able to access either brand from the landing page or from a menu link within the blog. I am a photographer and brand one is "Babys & Maternity" and brand two is "High School Seniors". To be honest, i a wondering if I truly need the to have the cross link within the blog. Does the cross linking hurt, or you will it improve the SEO?