1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

ranking news for a client

Hello everyone!

Im a SEO Manager for latam market and I`ve received a new client, they have a news site for hispanic audience in the USA. They should be within the first hits in this area as they are part of one of the most important news channels in spanish.

Its the very first time I have to optimize a news site so please be gentle! ;)

Anyhow, Theyre not ranking as they should and Ive noticed first ranked news have a timestamp showing in the result

snap1.png

My question is

How does this impact on news? Should I add these tags? Are there any sort of "best practices" on this or a site to get a tutorial or a basis to develope these stamps?

Thanks a lot in advance to you guys!
  3. rod@missionop.com
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Originally Posted by Oskiper
    Anyhow, Theyre not ranking as they should
    The first mistake is saying... "where they should be ranked." The algorithm does not know they are part of one of the most important news channels in Spanish and certainly doesn't use that criteria to order ranks.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by fathom
    The first mistake is saying... "where they should be ranked." The algorithm does not know they are part of one of the most important news channels in Spanish and certainly doesn't use that criteria to order ranks.
    Agree on that point!

By that I meant that "according to my client, as they are part of a major news channel, they should rank better"

The truth is that they develop tons of content everyday and its quite decently written, Despite of other important optimizations I have to run on that site, I wonder if timestamps are that important and how should I implement them.

Thanks for your quick reply.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)