1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Poor domain and page authority

Hi Guys and Gals,

I have been running a crossword solving website for several years now and can't seem to get it to the next level.

By its very nature I'd expect traffic to fluctuate, some days the most popular crosswords must be harder than others and I'd expect to see an increase in traffic or vice versa - this doesn't seem to be the case, if I compare today to the same day last week the level of traffic is uncannily within 0.5% of what I achieved the same day last week. We are talking about 5k visits a day - not huge numbers, but it feels like google is almost creating a ceiling that I cannot break through.
    Every few months I suddenly get a burst of traffic - like a 10% increase and the site will stay at that level for several months before the next burst. It really does look like traffic is being controlled and limited.

The content is extremely time sensitive, e.g. today's popular crosswords need to be indexed by google today... I have pretty good results for some crosswords, sometimes my answer pages get indexed within 20 minutes but other times they don't get indexed at all.

I've had the website analysed by a couple of SEO firms and the feedback I got is essentially that the site may appear to google as a bit spammy as the content changes so often... can this be true?

The other SEO issue is page and domain authority - both pretty poor - less than 20/100 on many online analysers.

A few points on my site:

1. I have a couple of sitemaps that are resubmitted when they are changed - sometimes about 5 times a day.
    2. The clue pages have an AMP version that google seems to like.
    3. The website is mobile friendly and responsive
    4. SSL Secured