1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

newbie & confused

Hello to everyone... and thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer me

As my post indicates.... I'm new to the whole SEO thing so it's been sort of a painful process of figuring out everything (love the site by the way).

Anyway... I made a page for a friend of mine (http://www.superiorchimney.net) and tried my best to optimize it for him, my primary keywords are "chicago chimney sweep". I registered his site with about 300 different directories and crawlers and then waited a couple of weeks.

Eventually I noticed he was getting referal visists from yahoo. I went and did a search on yahoo on "chicago chimney sweep" and lo and behold my friends site was listed 10th on the first page.

Now the problem is, I told him his site was listed 10th, and he went to go look and it was gone. Now I've done a little reading here and figured out the different data centers can spit out different listings on searches. I've seen his site get listed at the 10th spot then eventually dissapear again.

I guess my question is, the longer his sites up there, will his site eventually get listed as the 10th spot between all the different data centers? If not, what can I do to try and make yahoo (or any other search engine for that fact) synchronize the ranking.

Any help anyone can offer will be greately appreciated.... thanks
  3. <-- No I am not Kermit
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

First, welcome to SEOChat!

Second, regarding the Yahoo rank flux, I would expect that. Trying to convice Y or any others to syncronize the DC's, well, good luck.

What I would do is also check the rank in MSN. Being that it's a new site, you may be in G's sandbox, but it won't hurt to check there too.

Work on maintaining fresh content and gathering good quality (from related/associated pages) BL's. This should help the site climb in Yahoo, MSN, and (once out of the sandbox) Google.

Originally Posted by ktyson