1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Is it legal to show RSS content of another site in your site?

Hi, I have a wordpress site.

I know there are plugins available which will allow me to fetch the RSS content of another site and display that as a posts in my website.

I want to know that if I pull the RSS content of another site and show it on my website as posts, wont my site be penalized for duplicate content in Google? Also is it legal to do? What if the original site owner comes to know that his content is being shown on another site?

I want to choose the ethical way only without hurting anybody's interest.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
  3. Busting SEOChat Spammers!
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

Well I'm no lawyer so I can't give an answer about it being legal or not but as long as you remove someone else's content on request you shouldn't have any problems from them - unless they can prove your use of their content has costed them money I guess. Maybe someone here will know a more definite answer on the legal side of it, but you would probably be better off asking a lawyer about it if its something you feel could have legal consequence.

In terms of what google would do, that would depend on the amount of content you use, if that's the only content on your site, if you have a canonical tag telling google which is the original and if you get reported by the original publisher.