1. Nature Photographer
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Image Optimization

I make sure I use descriptive names for my alt tags, mainly because I'm a photographer. My question is, unless you're a photographer (tying to sell/find your images via search engines), is there a reason to make sure your images (alt tags) are optimized?
  3. Contributing User

Hi,

Yes, it is for many reasons.

First the Search engine will understand what that image is about, this will help it send in more visitors to my website. Some one searching for a "xyz recipe" image will be also interested to buy my recipe book if they click on the image and visit my website.

Second, It is helpful to the differently abled who use readers to understand website. In that case an Alt text will make more sense than a DSC001 text. Even for others who do not use a screen reader they can't understand if the images do not load and if there is no Alt text.

More over Alt text needs to be descriptive to help the S.E understand even more better & classify them. IMO Google understands images a lot better than Bing. Do a search for a term in both the engines and you can find out which one is better

Comments on this post

• GabrielG agrees
  5. Nature Photographer

That makes sense, thanks!
  7. Nature Photographer

Just wanted to add, that my site should be pretty good, SEO-wise (imagesinthebackcountry<dot>com). I had another photographer asking a question about his site. He doesn't rely on images to sell. He get's paid being a wedding/portrait photographer. I do nature stuff.
  9. No Profile Picture