1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

How to Get New Site Crawled by Google

We've just about completed another web site and we are now thinking about SEO. I've read in the forums that it is better to be "found" by Google vs. actually submitting a URL directly to Google.

Following that advice, I've placed a few links from our company site to the new web site--figuring that when the Googlebot comes to our company site, it will pick up the link to the new web site and then the new site will get crawled, too.

Anyway, I checked the log files of both sites this morning and found that the Googlebot crawled our company site, but did not crawl the new site. Is this typical? I am an amateur at how Google works, so my initial plan to get the new site crawled may be seriously flawed. Any clarification others may have would be nice.

I want to get the new site into Google as soon as possible, so if submitting directly to Google is the best and most efficient way, I have no problem doing that.

Lay some wisdom on me, please!
  3. Give me Backlinks
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Firstly, make sure that the link to the new site is placed on a PR rich page- PR 6 or above. Secondly, don't expect to get the new site crawled so soon. Deep crawl often takes time. Just make sure that the page that contains link to new site has been visited and then wait. There's absolutely no doubt that allowing google to find your site is better than submitting it. Have patience.
  5. No Profile Picture

How do you know if your site has been crawled by Google?
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)