1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Foreign keywords in english site: how to avoid duplication and worse ranking?

Hi guys, I'm I work at the website of the company I work for. I add content, pictures, videos and also do some web marketing (with a very limited budget...basically zero)
    I'm not an expert in SEO but I'm trying to learn.

The website is currently available in Italian, English and German, but we export worldwide.

It's structured with "country stores", so people can choose the nation and the language at the beginning of the navigation, then the website changes a few things depending on the choice (prices, shipping costs) but the content remains the same.

Recently I tried to add foreign language keywords (Spanish and French) manually to the english pages to see how google and other SEs would react.
    The results were very good, we got from nowhere to be seen to the 1st places using those languages, both in google.com and google.es and .fr.

I proposed to add those generic (but specific for our genre of products) keywords automatically to all the pages of a specific country.

For example the French Country store will have the same french keywords etc coupled with a few key caracteristic of that product added manually, included the name of it... the same for the main languages so spanish, portoguese, chinese, russian, maybe arabic and japanese (our main markets).

Do you think It's a risk, that google may see that as duplicate content and declass our ranking? That's what our website design company told the owners...so they can ask for more money to use a more time consuming system that also won't work very well in my opinion (changing the keywords for all the procucts, one by one, almost manually)

Help me out because the owners of the company tend to trust more this company than me just because they pay them (a lot).

Thanks in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User