1. SeoRaptor
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Don't go to conferences to learn SEO

Dear SEOChat community in this thread I'll try an exercise I've never tried before. Taking a broad statement and trying to explain why It is true.

The statement of the day is : Don't go to conferences to learn SEO

I already know that people are going to answer me that a lot of big conferences like SMX are a real-round tables were you can meet highly demanded professionnals and hear some really interesting infos and updates on the world of SEO.

First of all, I need to say that I totally agree with that BUT this only applies to people that already know (a little / a lot) about SEO.

My point is that a lot of companies send employees to a one hour conference on SEO or to a half a day formation on On-page Optimisation, Content creation, log analysis,... Some of these encounters are free but generally they aren't and they actually can cost a lot of money. And this money could for me be invested in a better way.

So why can't you learn this way?

• Because most of the time people that participate in such meetings go there with a paper and a pen and write down everything they can instead of trying to understand what the subject really is, they generally end up copying the strategy used as an example instead of analysing what their company website really needs to rank high and convert a lot.
    • Because even a 3-hour class is much too short to really be able to understand all aspects of SEO. Yes you can have a general introduction to most of it, but it seems totally impossible to me to get into details of every aspect of SEO in such a small time frame. And the problem is that SEO is a question of details. Server Log analysis or Speed optimisation alone could take much more time.

(Some people will say that website loading speed is not the job of an SEO and I personally disagree with that, but that's another question).