1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Domain Name and Partial Words

Hi All,

I am a newbie here and a newbie to SEO so hello and thanks!

I am developing a directory website for students to find local teachers. It will have a directory of local teachers and will also have content through blogs and forums.

Here is my question.

Let's say I want name the site *karateteachandlearn.com* as I want folks to come to the site to both teach and learn. However, I am concerned with the SEO merits. From keyword research, folks search on 'karate teacher', not 'teach'.

If someone searches on 'karate teacher', do I get much or any SEO credit for having the text string 'teach' in the domain, although it is not an exact match and not delineated with hyphens?

Alternatively, I could use something like my-karate-teacher.com. It is not as good a fit with the site mission, but if it is that much better SEO wise, it might be close enough.

I plan to have a good site with good content and hopefully links to it, but I don't want to leave a lot on the table by not naming the site properly.

Any thoughts?

Thank you
    David
  3. No Profile Picture

Today you'll not get any additional boost in rankings if there is targeted keyword in you domain name. But there is one thing to note: if someone links to your site using domain name as an anchor text then keyword in domain name will be a bonus.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by haus18
    Hi All,

I am a newbie here and a newbie to SEO so hello and thanks!

I am developing a directory website for students to find local teachers. It will have a directory of local teachers and will also have content through blogs and forums.

Here is my question.

Let's say I want name the site *karateteachandlearn.com* as I want folks to come to the site to both teach and learn. However, I am concerned with the SEO merits. From keyword research, folks search on 'karate teacher', not 'teach'.