1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Could this have killed my site

So I have been ranking for many years fairly well for a popular scrabble based keyword. About 7 months ago my site disappeared from the main keyword. It has so fat coast me about 30,000 in lost adsense revenue.

Ugh I know its bad.

I have about 1.8 million pages indexed with Google so I know this could take a while to reindex or crawl.

I discovered a week ago that I have a hidden table which contained my main links in my header. It went something like this

Code:
    <table style="display:none">
        <tr>
            <td><a href="http://www.example.com">Home</a></td>
            <td><a href="http://www.example.com/this/">This</a></td>
            <td><a href="http://www.example.com/that">That</a></td>
        </tr>
    </table>
    The reason I had this code hidden was because I created a new menu and wanted to save the old menu just in case. Not realizing later on that this was hidden links which is a no no with Google. Yeah I know I am kicking myself now realizing I did it.

My question is do any of you see that this might have killed my rankings? Since it was on my header for every 1.8 million pages I figure it caused a dramatic drop in everything. Being only a week into the change should I expect a much longer wait to time to see rank changes?

If only @mattcutts would contact me personally
  3. rod@missionop.com
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Hidden links are not hidden when you have another link to the same location that isn't hidden.
  5. SEO Since 97
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

I would think it is, would google check to see if it's a copy of another link..I doubt it,
    How long after you did this did the site vanish?
  7. No Profile Picture

From what I remember it only took about a week after I changed the menu
  9. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)