1. No Profile Picture
    Ivy
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Tappen, BC - small rural area outside of Salmon Arm in the beautiful Okanogan Valley (famous for our wine)

A bunch of silly questions for all you experts!

Hi everybody, this is my first post. Iím a self-taught beginner when it comes to all this computor stuff and I have a pile of stupid questions so please bear with me. Two months ago I started my own business selling natural bath products and soy candles. I taught myself how to build a website and optimized it for search engines according to what I learned reading articles on the internet. The results are not what I was hoping for. I look to Google for most of my vitals due to the vast array of tools available for queries. For the term "aromatherapy sprays" I managed the get position 118, but everything else is beyond the 1000th result displayed by most query tools. I have a number of questions regarding various topics so please donít feel obligated to answer all of them. I donít know a lot of jargon so please be gentle!

1. I use WebCEO to query search engines about positioning. I recently read the terms of agreement for submitting to Google and it states that the use of query tools is not allowed. Is there a different way to monitor your position in a timely manner?

2. I read that changing a pages name from aromatherapysprays.html to aromatherapy_sprays.html can increase your rank. All of my pages are currently indexed by Google. Will changing the names now create broken links? Also, how long will it be before Google notices this change?

3. What is a robot.txt file and how should I use it? Is it necessary and what does it have to do with SEO?

4. I have read that meta keywords should be kept to a maximum of 12. Upon investigation, top Google competition uses way more. A few pages on my site have more than 12 relevant keywords - can I list them? Iím very paranoid about the dreaded "blacklist", has my competition just not been caught yet?