
August 26th, 2006, 05:19 AM
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Moderator
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Join Date: May 2004
Location: In between UK and US - Closing The Gap
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How GaryTheScubaGuy Uses HitTail
I posted this over on Mike's forum and thought other PPC'ers might get something out of it.
Quote: ...I use the tool for my Adwords accounts and they double my other campaigns in every positive way. Double the Clicks, half the CPC, half the overall conversion costs.
The one place that does tend to suffer on some of the smaller campaigns I run in that the conversion runs a little lower, so if your other campaigns struggle you want to build them up first to at least 2-2.3% before you try my method. (IMO)
In the following image of the Adwords account I speak of, the average conversion rate (you can't see it, it's at the bottom) is 21.27%
Look at the conversion rates on my 3 HitTail campaigns.
http://static.flickr.com/88/225078162_725a06ed60.jpg?v=0
(Sorry so small, I was in a hurry)
Basically they remain in the exact same range, thereby allowing the new Google algorithms to get around any prejudice that they may otherwise have had. But that's just my opinion.
This campaign is 60k+ keywords at times, and each consistently stays at #1 for a fraction of what this client used to pay...even for very basic terms. If you will PM or EMail me I'll sent you a non-disclosure email with the terms, or you can just trust me when I say they were and continue to be difficult and unobtainable terms for their competitors.
I say this because I have heard the argument that the CTR quality may hurt your positioning.
I've used Hit Tail on large (very large) and small campaigns.
Here's my process (Sure Mike, you can use this )
I usually take 30-45 days rebuilding a sites content, its keyword density, and the basic stuff, then concatenating the pages with their perspective keywords, then watching the stats and analytics every couple hours.
From there (45 days) I start dropping off non-performing (remember, NON, not LOW) keywords. Some will make the mistake of eliminating keywords based on this number (CTR) being low, but when examined more closely you'll see that even though it only had a .02% CTR, it had 47,800 impressions and 22 clicks. This is still traffic. And as far as I can see I haven't found that it affected the overall positioning at all.
From here I continue to use Hit Tail about every 2 weeks or so. I eliminate a bad campaign, and replace it with the random list I download via Excel file (Thank you Mike and Company!), and believe it or not I sit there and load them 2000 at a time right into a new campaign.
From here its just alot of analytics and data mining. Refine.Perfect. Then Rinse and Repeat.
Pretty difficult eh?
Well I didn't give away a few of my "special" secrets. You'll have to dive in and use the tool and Adwords for months on end...(and that's cumulative), or pay me for that kind of information. |
GaryTheScubaGuy
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