Open Directory Project
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
 
 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   SEO Chat ForumsDirectoriesOpen Directory Project

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread SEO Chat Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2003, 02:05 AM
Terry Graham Terry Graham is offline
Junior Member
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4 Terry Graham User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Terry Graham
dmoz.org

Mam dmoz.org really s**ks. They said my site is an affiliate site and will not be listed. http://www.insanediscounts.com I think the editors must try to keep out sites that compete with theirs. and no insane discounts is not an affiliate site.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 19th, 2003, 06:02 AM
wm_asia wm_asia is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 319 wm_asia User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 1 h 6 m 39 sec
Reputation Power: 6
At least you did get an answer back...

some many don't....

regards, hans

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 19th, 2003, 11:07 AM
piel's Avatar
piel piel is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 328 piel User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 3 h 51 m 38 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by "wm_asia"

At least you did get an answer back...


He does have a point ;-)
__________________
Got Yoga?

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 19th, 2003, 01:56 PM
viggen viggen is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 91 viggen User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 37 m 24 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Re: dmoz.org

Quote:
Originally posted by "Terry Graham"

and no insane discounts is not an affiliate site.


Your site is an SMC distributorship

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 19th, 2003, 07:19 PM
ettore's Avatar
ettore ettore is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 57 ettore User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Send a message via ICQ to ettore
ODP policy on listing affiliate resellers is available at http://dmoz.org/guidelines/include.html#affiliate . That is, affiliate sites will not be listed in ODP, sorry.
__________________
E. R. Peyrot
ODP Meta Editor
Localization professional

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2003, 01:10 AM
Terry Graham Terry Graham is offline
Junior Member
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4 Terry Graham User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Terry Graham
odp submission

OK so I removed the offending SMC catalog and two swords that come from the catalog and now the rest of my products are imported from maanufacturers in China or come from manufacturers in the US. Now ODP tells me my products come from itctv. I have no clue who or what that is. Can someone tell me what that is and what is so different about another site listed in ODP that sells some of the same products http://www.optimumdiscounts.com What is it that they are doing right ? I just need to understand this better. Would it make a difference if I got my products from GOD or would that be bad too?

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 20th, 2003, 01:24 AM
Terry Graham Terry Graham is offline
Junior Member
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4 Terry Graham User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Terry Graham
I assume they are talking about http://www.itctv.com
I fail to see any comparison at all. Am I crazy?
They do have a clock that I sell but like I said I buy mine from the manufacturer in China http://www.mxclock.com There is no middle man. I am the only one making a profit.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 7th, 2003, 04:42 PM
alfaorg's Avatar
alfaorg alfaorg is offline
Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 141 alfaorg User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 16 h 37 m 16 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by "ettore"

ODP policy on listing affiliate resellers is available at http://dmoz.org/guidelines/include.html#affiliate . That is, affiliate sites will not be listed in ODP, sorry.


Mine is not but the "canadian chicken" editor gave me the same answer using an arogant tone, like a GOD ( of my ...k.)
http://www.alfaorg.com/


By the way you are OK.[/url]

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 9th, 2003, 02:24 PM
traveler123 traveler123 is offline
Junior Member
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 24 traveler123 User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
I think probably 25% to half the sites listed in DMOZ are affiliate sites in one way or another. For example there are about 500,000 Amazon affiliates out there and you can bet many are listed in DMOZ.

They try to keep out those that are only pure affiliate sites but editors will add a site if they like the content that surrounds it.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 9th, 2003, 05:58 PM
ettore's Avatar
ettore ettore is offline
Contributing User
SEO Chat Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 57 ettore User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Send a message via ICQ to ettore
>> I think probably 25% to half the sites listed in DMOZ are affiliate sites in one way or another.
>> editors will add a site if they like the content that surrounds it.

Somewhat true, even though a bit simplicistic, but you got the point

The presence of affiliate links or affiliate content isn't in and of itself ground for rejection. It's the balance between unique content and affiliate content which has to be considered in these cases. We do look at the purpose of the site. Sites consisting primarily of affiliate links, or whose sole purpose is to drive user traffic to another site or sell products already available on other sites, are not accepted for inclusion in the ODP. However, a site that contains affiliate links in addition to other content (such as a fan site for a singer that has interviews and photos plus banner ads and links to buy the singer's CDs or books about the singer) can easily be accepted.

Sure some editorial discretion is involved here. Citing from the Guidelines, here's the general rule of thumb that should be applied:
Look at the content on the site, mentally blocking out all affiliate links. If the remaining information is original and valuable informational content that contributes something unique to the category's subject, the site may be a good candidate for the ODP. If the remaining content is poor, minimal, or copied from some other site, then the site is not a good candidate for the ODP.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: SEO Chat ForumsDirectoriesOpen Directory Project > dmoz.org


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 4 hosted by Hostway
Stay green...Green IT