1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

What are real SEO options?

Please bare with me, my ignorance on the subject may cause me to come off as stupid. Is SEO something that can be learned and applied without having coding experience nor my own website or are those two things a must? Im only asking because I read a small article on what SEO is and it seemed really interesting and I would like to dwell in your guys realm if at all possible some of the stuff seemed pretty cool. Any sort of advice on what kind of options there are for someone as clueless as me in this field would be great thank you very much for reading!
  3. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Originally Posted by Zachary25
    Any sort of advice on what kind of options there are for someone as clueless as me in this field would be great thank you very much for reading!
    I've been doing SEO for about 18 months now. I'm on this forum daily, reading articles daily and doing my own experiments whilst ranking three of my own sites. At the start, I had the exact same questions.

If you use Wordpress for example, little code knowledge is needed. As content is all in a text editor and everything is simplified. Speed optimisation, redirects and so on can be done via plugins. So I don't think it's absolutely needed... but I think if you're serious about it you should learn the basics of HTML (this won't take long at all)... The good thing about the coding side of SEO is that it is set jobs. You only need to learn how to do a set lot of things, so you don't need to know how to code - you just need to know how to do a specific job in coding.

So if you needed to know how to do a redirect, you'd need to know the code for this. But, even if you searched this forum you would find the code somewhere.