1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Ways to build backlinks

I'm new to SEO and hve read one book about it so far. Here are my understanding of how to build backlinks below. Intermediate SEO practitioner, please tell me if I'm wrong in any of these methods below.

1. Blogging
    2. Blog guest commenting
    3. Social media posting
    4. Forum posting
    5. Registering your website to business directories
    6. Uploading videos to Youtube

My website is a ecommerce shp from Storenvy and blogging is not allowed which leaves me to 5 different ways to buildbacklinks. Any suggestions on what I should include in my SEO project? Thank you all for taking your time to read my post.
  3. Dinosaur
    SEO Chat Genius (4000 - 4499 posts)

The book your reading is out of date.
    Your attention should be on link earning not link building. Your effort should be into making the content you have the very best it can be and encourage users to share it. If your saying no one will want to share the content or link to it then your admitting that your content is not worth publishing.

All of the things you have listed could damage your site as the places that are easy to gain links from will be worth nothing or even worse harm you, Most will be nofollow links so carry no positive juice for you.
    Owner of Page Explorer the page onsite SEO checker
    Useful Tools: Site Crawler: Screaming Frog | Free SSL: Cloudflare
  5. No Profile Picture

How do you create content and make others share when the website is purely an e-commerce website with items only? By the way, the book I read was "SEO for 2017".

My competitor is ranking number one with pure items and about 10 backlinks.
  7. Dinosaur

"SEO for 2017".
    So that would mean it was written in 2016, its out of date as most books that claim to teach you SEO are.