1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Smile SEO losing steam

Hi there, I work in marketing and advertising. I've heard some banter around the office where people are saying "SEO is Dead"? I dont really know what that means but I asssume people referring to this as if its no longer profitable, it no longer works and we are at the mercy of google, or all the real marketing is just on Social Media. i asked a friend who works for a Local SEO Company. He didnt think it's dead but did mention it is a saturated industry like most. But they also insisted that they have plenty of clients that have recently shot through the ranking due to their efforts.

Maybe people are just burned out on their job idk ??
    Last edited by Hikin Mike; Oct 18th, 2017 at 01:43 AM. Reason: removed link and warned
  3. SEO Since 97
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Yea it's saturated with a bunch of people who take clients on and don't know sh!t about seo.
    It's not dead but taking a hit by uneducated people to make a quick buck and ruin sites.
  5. Dinosaur
    SEO Chat Genius (4000 - 4499 posts)

I personally feel its dead as far as being able to game google into ranking a poor site high as you used to be able to do. However a quality site with good SEO still works wonders. This however requires effort which a lot of the people moaning the SEO is dead are not prepared to do.
    Owner of Page Explorer the page onsite SEO checker
    Useful Tools: Site Crawler: Screaming Frog | Free SSL: Cloudflare
  7. Entrepreneur
    SEO Chat Scholar (3000 - 3499 posts)

Originally Posted by Chedders
    I personally feel its dead as far as being able to game google into ranking a poor site high as you used to be able to do. However a quality site with good SEO still works wonders. This however requires effort which a lot of the people moaning the SEO is dead are not prepared to do.