1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Long Dynamic URLs - how to fix?

Hi guys

Newbie here and looking for a little help.

I'm trying to fix my website for SEO and get more traffic.

Something I keep coming across is warnings about dynamic URLs which are too long and have parameters.

Only, I don't know how to fix it. They're necessary and as short as possible.

For example, for my site which is a social site:

/profiles/search.asp?postcode=AB12&distance=123&this=that&so mething=something

This are the parameters necessary for searching. They define the content of the page, filtering through our member database.

If I use a simple post form instead of GET, then I lose the querystring which allows people to use the Back button (and also bookmark their favourite searches).

Honestly don't know how to fix this issue. Yes the URLs are long, yes they have parameters. But will search engines (Google in particular) punish me for this? Or not at all?

Thanks
    Matt
  3. Dinosaur
    SEO Chat Genius (4000 - 4499 posts)

This one is complicated for many reasons.
    Firstly are the parameters from user input, so does it require a user to type anything in order for these parameters to be tagged on to the url ? if yes then google is never going to get to them.
    If they are filters so you have a main page which users can drill down into the content then a simple canonical tag to the page showing all the results is the answer.

You could also look at url rewriting but looks like from your example you could be using classic asp and I am unsure if thats available, it maybe but the last time I used asp it was not an option.
    Owner of Page Explorer the page onsite SEO checker
    Useful Tools: Site Crawler: Screaming Frog | Free SSL: Cloudflare
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi Chedders, thanks for replying.