Thread: Introduction

1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Introduction

Hello, I'm not a developer as I have been retired for 15 years. I built web sites back then and my rule was to make the sites a pleasure to use no matter what equipment or internet connection the user might have. I have an aviation web site I started when I retired which now has 13,000+ pages. It is not fancy, but it is very fast loading and well liked by the aviation enthusiast community.

In recent months using the internet has become intolerable and annoying because of dismal page speed performance. I've joined hoping to find solutions to help me avoid opening terribly slow websites without having to run a speed test on each one.
  3. Just a Photographer
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Welcome to SEOChat! One of my interests is airplanes and specifically WWI & WWII aircraft.
    - Mike

Jack of all trades, master of none.
  5. SEO Since 97
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Is the problem on your side or the site that serving what ever? Or do you know.
  7. Digital Marketing
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Do you mean websites that are slow because they are more interested in serving ads than displaying content?
  9. No Profile Picture

I'm achieving the promised internet high speed connection, the observed results for slow sites are the same on my different computers and browsers. It's not so much the initial load time that irritates me; it's that on many sites, after the page has loaded, the text portion of the page jumps up and down when embedded images and advertisements load making it difficult to keep reading. I know there isn't anything to be done about this... it's probably due to the inefficiencies of "website builder" software that use templates. I know there isn't anything to be done about this in the short term, but this venue seemed to be a good place to rant.
  11. No Profile Picture