Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Post Getting a Featured Snippet in Google

DISCLAIMER: I'm an utter noob when it comes to this stuff.

Our firm has been trying to figure out how to crack into Google's featured snippets. As part of an experiment, we took a relatively low volume search term ("find a job after divorce") and tried to write an article that would grab the snippet for it. We were using this article for reference on how: searchengineland.com/get-featured-snippets-site-224959

It's now been two weeks and not only do we not have the snippet, we also haven't seen it appear in search period. In fact, if you search for the keyword along with our location (north carolina), you'll see other articles of ours at the top, but not the specific article we were tagging for.

Here is a link to our article: rosen.com/divorce/find-job-after-divorce/

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by dzine; Aug 1st, 2017 at 11:06 AM. Reason: URLs deflated in advance, then approved
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

Hey mate, two weeks is really not long enough to wait. It generally takes 4 to 6 weeks for starred reviews to show up in the serps as per my experience.

Be patient give it some more time. You could have made your changes just after the last crawl, then you would have to wait till next crawl for Google to even see the changes.
  5. Digital Marketing
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

Hey Charmac, welcome to the forums!

I would remove these 2 lines of code:
    <meta name="description" content="On top of the stress of your family breaking up, you have to find a job. How do you start? Where do you go? To find a job in today's world is...">
    <meta name="keywords" content="jobs, divorce, north carolina, find a job, getting work after being unemployed, get a job after divorce" />