1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Are full page sliders good or bad for SEO

My website is very new and I am just learning SEO. My company is an IT services provider. I look at other sites with respect to a) whether
    I personally like them and b) whether they have adopted popular techniques and then pattern my site based on that. Also I look at it
    in terms of whether it makes sense for my industry, and also whether it is appealing visually.

When I first started I tried to make the main content be full page images with white text overlaying the content for headlines.
    Then I put several "pages" vertically below the first one. But I didn't like the way it looked at all - it seemed incoherent, although it
    seems to be a common technique these days - I guess the term is that it is used for "landing pages".

So I switched this to make it a three slide full page slider. I guess it looks good, but to me sliders seem gimmicky and distracting?
    Yet they seem to be popular - is there an SEO benefit or a benefit from the standpoint of users being engaged with it?

I am thinking of going back to neither a slider, nor a stacked set of full page images, and just have one home page, with one main
    image with content below it. Then put the other full page images on their own pages.

The other issue I have with this common technique of full page images with white text overlaying is that you don't initially see the content
    unless you scroll down. It seems to me that it makes more sense to have only images that are about half height (on desktop or tablet)
    and immediately visible content below it. The other problem with a full page image is that it contains a "learn more" button" and if they
    click that then they will never have gotten to the content below it. Does the search engine care if the image is full height and users