1. Rebel Without a Clue
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Number of Key Words?

I'm a complete novice on these things so apologise in advance if this is a dumb question...

We've been working with an agency for the last 5 months with the aim of increasing rankings on 12 keywords. These keywords haven't moved for us, but the agency have increased the number of keywords ranked for our site, SEMRush now shows us as having nearly 300 instead of 200. Looking at the big guys in our market shows they all have huge volumes of key words.

Our issue is that of targeted terms, our main one has overall google traffic of 3600 per month, the second term has 480 hits per month, the 12th of our terms has 140 per month. According to our google stats, the new keywords added by the agency have given us on average 3 hits over 5 months

It would take nearly 2000 of these keywords to equal the traffic of our main search term.

Question : In this case, would it be better to instead focus efforts on a larger term, which wouldn't be quite so targeted but which has a much larger traffic? For us the wider term would be 'family holidays' (14800 per month), but we'd only appeal to around 20% of this market (c. 3000 per month) and it's significantly more competitive?

Thanks for reading!
  3. A Developers Perspective

Id never target any keywords below 1000 per month, with the click through rate and conversion rate it just isnt worth the time.

If your paying this external company though they should be finding optimal keywords for you, not ones with only 140 hits per month, ( also is that global or local? and is it exact or broad matched?, it could actually turn out to be significantly less)