1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

keyword building?

Hello!
    I'm quite new to SEO having only started earlier this year, I feel I have grasped some of the basics but I am still in the research stage.
    The title to this post maybe slightly misleading as I'm unsure on even how to phrase my question, I can however do it with an example:

If a website, say a computer shop, has the keywords "Buy, sell, repair, computers" (ignoring the fact these are bad keywords anyway due to irrelevancy) If the user typed into a search engine "buy computers" would these keywords be combined still ranking you just as high if it was a key phrase?
    If not does that mean that it is better to instead use "buy computers, sell computers, computer repair, repair computers"?
    and if so would you be demoted in the SERPS as it isn't a key phrase in your site but is built from your keywords?

Any help would be greatly appreciated
    M0rgan0
  3. Busting SEOChat Spammers!
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

Are you asking about the meta keyword tag? If so don't worry, its not used by google to effect rankings and hasn't been for some time, see Google: Actually, Meta Tags Do Matter. | WebProNews for a good read on the subject of meta tags along with a couple of videos from Matt Cutts.

If you're talking about the content on your site that people are reading, well that's a clue "people are reading", it should be written for your visitors not for the search engines, so write meaningful content that your visitors will want to read and share on the web. Of course it helps to have your targeted keywords in your content and you should also have at least one (your main one) in your title, but from the example list you gave, I'm guessing your asking about the meta tag, no?
    New To SEOChat? See Here & the FAQ's

"stupid people say stupid things, and smart people out smart each other!" SOAD
    301 Redirects | SEO Tools | Default htaccess | CuteRank