Forgive me if this has been discussed before. If it has, I couldn't find it. I just went to Google and searched on:
1955 hammond atlas
The very first hit that appeared was:
www.pricede.com/ 1955_RAND_MCNALLY_REFERENCE_ROAD_ATLAS_1750.html
Where does that link take you? Takes me right to eBay! How's that happen? When I paste that URL here it is no longer a real URL. You'll need to go to Google and do the search to see what I mean.
AND, I have noticed this about 15 times the past few days. URL APPEARS a website, and I am thrown into eBay. Not that I'm *****in', just want to know how they are doing this.
The URL's aren't all
www.pricede.com either. This is ODD at least for my tiny brain anyway.......
Someone on another board told me this is part of eBay's affiliate program.
http://pages.ebay.com/affiliate/
I sent an e-mail to Google, telling them that if I wanted to go to eBay I would - I didn't want to be deceived & think I was going to someone's website and then end up at eBay.
Here's what they sent me in return:
Quote:
Hi Melinda,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you feel that a Web site is trying to deceive our Web crawlers, please submit a report at http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html . We appreciate your assistance in maintaining the quality of our search results.
Regards,
The Google Team |
Just thought you search-engine-types would be interested in this.
People are going to get sick of this deception and will turn to other search engines. Or not.........