1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Why are splash pages bad? seems like it could be a good idea

this is what im thinking:

the splash page would be full of keywords, and h1's and strong tags. not spam mind you, but a good sumary of your site and what it has to offer.

often times we cant throw h1s around and content gets dilhuted by images, tables, etc. because we want the page to look good.

the splash page has only one outbound link--to the rest of your site perhaps main.htm
    the splash page will have a lot of inbound links from the rest of the site and from other webpages because peole will link to www.yourdomain.com and thus the splash page.

your splash page would get a high PR and once they get to the fast loading splash page hopefully they will click one more time to get to your site.

what are the downsides of this approach? im a noob so perhaps i have my facts incorrect.

thanks
  3. L8r
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Mainly this:

Originally Posted by sad.machine
    hopefully they will click one more time to get to your site.
  5. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Have you ever seen a top media site use a splash page?

There's a reason why splash pages have gone the way of the dodo bird.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

just because no one uses it, doesnt meant its necessarily bad.

i understand how they might not click again. thats a good point.

but what about page ranking benefits?
  9. Contributing User

just because no one uses it, doesnt meant its necessarily bad.
    I think it is, you're making a site for your visitors, not for yourself. Only thing what you could make for yourself should be the way you make your income out of your site(if you do this). Otherwise, things on your site have to be usefull or so freaking beautiful that it really spices up your website. When not, do not use it.
    Last edited by Tresern; Feb 3rd, 2005 at 07:17 PM.