Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Why this page ranks less than competitor's?

Hello everyone,
    this looks like the typical question a beginner could ask, but please, I am no beginner and I am seeking your advice on how to explain that a strong page like this:

https://www.virtualsheetmusic.com/Christmas.html

Ranks in 14th position for "Christmas sheet music" whereas this one:

https://www.8notes.com/all/christmas/sheet_music/

Ranks first, and similarly, 12 pages after that one rank better than the first page above.

If you check all the metrics, the first page above would deserve a much higher ranking.

Why do you think is so penalized?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!
    Last edited by fabrizio; Oct 26th, 2017 at 06:57 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

Well it may have something to do with their backlink profile Please note that virtualsheetmusic has almost a half million back links where as 8notes has roughly 60 thousand.

I dunno, seems there may be a quality issues with the source of the backlinks. 1/2 million vs 59,000. Maybe their backlinks are the kicker. Just from a cursory glance at them, I am inclined to think so.
    How many threads here caution that the quantity of links is not what matters, it's the quality of the link. Seems that is pointed out here, the lower ranking site has 8x times the links of the higher ranking site.

The short answer is 8notes has a better inbound links as it appears. In addition to that it also appears that virtualsheetmusic has keyword stuffed that term for image alt text. I could be wrong, but I don't think so.

VirtualSheetMusic's profile

8notes profile
    Last edited by KnowOneSpecial; Oct 25th, 2017 at 10:49 AM.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thank you for you reply.