1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Why have I lost my google ranking?

Hello everyone,

We own a small ecosensitive resort on the island of Roatan in Honduras.
    Our website is three years old ww.roatanpearl.com

I do all the website maintenance and search engine optimization myself but I am not a professional
    webmaster. Our site was ranking very well in google for many keywords but even for the general keyword
    Roatan with the most competition we came up number 9. We also ranked in the top 10 for various other keyword
    searches.

Recently we have been dropped out of google, even if you put our domain in the Google keyword search you won't
    come up with our site.

I believe there could be three possible reasons for this and since I doubt I will ever get any feedback from google
    (I already wrote them) I would appreciate any ideas anyone might have:

1. my old webmaster (before I started to do all the work myself) when he went live with my new domain
    created a redirect from the place where I had my old site to the new one. The adress is:
    roatanet.com/islandpearl. The old site was very small and didn't have any backlinks besides the roatanet so I
    don't know why he did this, and I didn't even know it was there.

It must be noted that the roatanet also hosts my present domain so this means the redirect and the domain were
    on the same servor. I still have it up intil I figure out what to do since it is the only way you can find me in google now.

2. A guy passing through Roatan liked my hotel and decided to link my site to his various different reptile sites which
    isn't really relevant to tourism.

reptirank.com, reptimart.com, reptileforums.com and ssnakes.com

It turns out he didn't just link me to his home page but to all the pages which amounts to aprox 50 0000 pages/links

He also has other unrelated sites linked to these pages and they didn't suffer any penalties.