|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#46
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
SearchLatitude are quite well known in the UK agency world.. It would be interesting to do a case study of their clients to see if the stunts they pulled with Ocean Finance are replicated. This could be the moment they lose their credablity.. oops
__________________
channel5's SEO A to Z, nuggets of SEO knowledge in 26 topics from A to Z. How to rank in Regional Googles |
|
#47
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
It seems Latitude don't like being in the spotlight. They've removed the content, LOL. It is detailed many times on their website... http://www.searchlatitude.com/index.php Last edited by GaryTheScubaGuy : May 25th, 2007 at 06:23 AM. |
|
#48
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
They've also been on my website... here is the whois report: whois 82.211.92.175 % This is the RIPE Whois query server #2. % The objects are in RPSL format. % % Rights restricted by copyright. % See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html % Note: This output has been filtered. % To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag % Information related to '82.211.92.128 - 82.211.92.191' inetnum: 82.211.92.128 - 82.211.92.191 netname: Latitude descr: Latitude country: GB admin-c: SS8042-RIPE admin-c: MA449-RIPE tech-c: MA449-RIPE status: Assigned PA mnt-by: MNET-MNTNER source: RIPE # Filtered role: MNET ADMIN address: 142-148 Goswell Road address: London address: EC1V 7DU address: UK phone: +44 20 7324 3700 fax-no: +44 20 7324 3900 e-mail: hostmaster@mnet.net.uk remarks: all abuse complaints should be e-mailed to remarks: abuse .a.t. mnet.net.uk admin-c: PSK1-RIPE admin-c: GH909-RIPE tech-c: PSK1-RIPE tech-c: FN341-RIPE tech-c: SC4321-RIPE tech-c: CY251-RIPE nic-hdl: MA449-RIPE mnt-by: MNET-MNTNER source: RIPE # Filtered person: Scott Sargeant address: 700 Mandarin Court address: Warrington address: WA1 1GG e-mail: scott.sargeant@searchlatitude.com phone: +441925413513 nic-hdl: SS8042-RIPE mnt-by: MNET-MNTNER source: RIPE # Filtered % Information related to '82.211.80.0/20AS24867' route: 82.211.80.0/20 descr: mNET London2 POP Customer Networks origin: AS24867 remarks: Peering contact is peering@mnet.net.uk mnt-by: MNET-MNTNER source: RIPE # Filtered I might write them a hello on the main page.. I have a copy of the press release they have removed on my PC.. maybe I should put it on my website.. after all a press release is copyright cleared isn't it |
|
#49
|
||||
|
||||
|
Think I may have found another.. I was looking around for their client list and found a few sites.. this one looks like its been penalised for something:
www.autodirect.co.uk Haven't got chance to take a full look at it as I am off out in a moment, but if you search for www.autodirect.co.uk on Google their site is not at the top of the listing, they have a PPC ad at the top, but no natural listing, top listing is www.autodirectinsuranceservices.co.uk/ which is a clone of the www.autodirect.co.uk site, same trick as Ocean Finance used to get back on for their domain name before Google busted them again. Maybe someone with some time can see why this one got taken out? |
|
#50
|
|||
|
|||
|
Channel im not sure what you are trying to pull here.
But I can confirm 100% that Latitude are not the agency that were working on ocean finance when it got penalised. They may of been a Latitude customer at some point but not when the penalty was inflcited by google. Neither are money supermarket or motley fool other sites in the same sector which have suffered froom some kind of penalty recently. Quote:
__________________
Christian Missionairies - Port Elizabeth, South Africa |
|
#51
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Well if Latitude were not the agency that caused the problem for Ocean Finance then fair enough... if i was them i'd stop claiming them as a client (and i know in the agency world that even if you answered a speculative email from a company then you claim them as a client, so if Ocean finance aren't an SEO client of Latitude then I'd believe it). |
|
#52
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
It seems consistent with what google have been saying about paid links. identify trends that appear with paid links.. The investigate manually for now while they work out how to do it by algo.... Just banning a few along the way to scare the rest out of doing it any longer.
__________________
Live the moment |
|
#53
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well that’s strange Noj as you are criticising Ocean Finance and their use of ad networks (dp) and how they got penalised; Well i run five large sites and ALL of them have been contacted by "Kevin Jones" from Lattitude (your firm I believe) asking to put ads from Digital Point on my sites for money each month!! So interestingly, yes you ‘used’ to do Ocean and now you don’t allegedly. But you are heavily involved in the ad network which got them penalised. Hmmmmm.....seems like you're not as ethical as you want people to think...!! Last edited by M A L : May 24th, 2007 at 04:18 AM. |
|
#54
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
I've received some interesting communications off the record from a few people, and i'm sure now that Latitude DID NOT do the link campaign that got Ocean Finance in trouble. I don't want to post right now who the finger is pointing at right now, but it is not Latitude. On a side note, till recently there was no link devaluing for paid links so we can only shoot down people so much for ever having bought a link or tried to buy one. It is obviously a daft idea now to buy links as we see them being devalued every day. |
|
#55
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#56
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sorry, it is nothing personal. But it does annoy me that Latitude are basing people with their ethical stick in one hand, and with the other buying into an ad network. Latitude living in their glass house have been throwing some big rocks around. Last edited by M A L : May 24th, 2007 at 04:09 AM. |
|
#57
|
||||
|
||||
|
moneysupermarket.com has been reinstated in the listings back at their previous positions, so this makes me wonder whether they had been caught doing something a bit naughty and had a minus 40 penalty or something applied until they cleaned it up... this could account for their confidence when announcing that the problem was "temporary"
Interesting thing is one of their competitors - confused.com - another price comparison site, has now taken a massive drop from the rankings in Google.co.uk for the term "car insurance" they were number 1 recently and are now all of a sudden around 130 There is something definitely going on in this sector |
|
#58
|
||||
|
||||
|
and now confused.com is back in the top 10 for the term car insurance...
it's almost like someone at Google is yanking everyones chain to see how much noise gets made! |
![]() |
| Viewing: SEO Chat Forums > Google > Google Optimization > Why did this site get banned ? |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |