|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
Stay one step ahead of the competition. Evaluate and give feedback
on some of the hottest web development tools on the market today.
Make your opinion heard! Click
Here
|
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Website Copyright Infringement and DMCA Procedures
Hello All..
I was just analysing the AWstats and found a site that completely copied the content and structure of one of the websites I have.. Here it is http://forex4u(.)weebly.com The problem is, Its a free hosting site like geocities etc. I have already sent an E-mail to the hosts weebly.com to remove the content and everything or Else face Dire consequences but to no avail.. How proceed in such a case, as I cannot find as to who has created this unlike general copyright infringement cases where whois reveals host and other contact data.. Help please..
__________________
Link Diary - Build Links Fast & Easy. Similar to Linkmarket, with option of three way link exchange and anchor rotation. **"Save SEO Industry - GO VIRAL!! - Tips and Tricks ."** **"Argument wins the situation but loses the person, So dont argue until you r sure with whom are you going to.."** **"I may climb perhaps to no great heights, but I will climb alone." Last edited by Visio : October 30th, 2007 at 07:55 AM. Reason: Commented out link to the culprits site ;-) |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Have they completely copied it (word for word), or is it just mimicking?
if word for word, they will get penalised by google, since they face duplicate content penalties If they have just mimicked it, its probably not worth worrying about, you could take it as a compliment... they will disappear in the end. Contacting their host was probably the most direct approach of getting rid of them. You could also try contacting them, and warn them that you will be left with no choice other than to take legal proceedings (and present them with evidence of their copying) Last edited by Mr Tuition : October 30th, 2007 at 05:05 AM. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
If i was you i would call them on the phone.. it is much easier to play hell on the phone than it is via email
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Take a look at the copied URL no contact nothing..no e-mail, its a free hosting site, and Yes its a word by word structure to structure copy
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Then they wont get anywhere, and will soon realise this since they will be penalised for duplication.
However, since its free i guess they arent too bothered. They do have a google search and map, so maybe its worth contacting google about this, they take phishing scams seriously .. and they may get banned from any google adverting ;) |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hmmm The map didnt load for me, But I have reported the Adsense about their scam.. hope to see their accounts banned
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
which mails did you try? Did you try already the abuse@ address?
Otherwise find out the address on nic.com -> whois. They sit in San Francisco maybe you can find the number somewhere else... In general I would say they are responsible for what they publish so if you write to them they have to take it down.
__________________
Budapest |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Already dropped a mail to the host, to the weebly owners, and to the google as well..no replies from anywhere as such
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
they also adveritse with adbrite ont the same page at the bottom(which is an adsesne breach of contract)....
So you could also contact adbrite |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
try websitegrader.com
If your site is better than his, you don't have much to worry. Guys like these usually quite lazy, they won't put much thought into SEO. |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
lovekills_s you'll want to hit this from all angles a C&D to the owner, and Takedown notices to host, and all search engines. It does no good to threaten without properly formated documents so a little help:
Review Google, Yahoo, and MSN DMCA claim procedures and generate DMCA Complaints ‘takedown orders’ for Google, Yahoo, and MSN. Generate a DMCA Complaints ‘takedown order’ for the hosting service provider. Reviewing to see if they are on the Online Service Provider Designated Agents list - protected by DCMA Title II If not listed (not protected) which means they may or may not comply with take down order. Proof all DMCA complaints for errors. Fax, Register Mail, Courier (and where applicable email) all recipients at the same time. Google.com F: (650) 963-3255) Yahoo.com F: (408) 349-7821 or eMail: copyright@yahoo-inc.com MSN.com F: (425) 936-7329 or eMail: jkweston@microsoft.com Hosting Online Service Provider Alleged Infringer ..and it's good to prepare a version for Chilling Effects and your own website and post (exclude all private contact information). This measure aids to curb future infringement. (making a reference with your usual copyright statement will get noticed pretty quickly). On receipt of responses, append to original on your website. Lastly if they are using AdSense on the offending page you are entitle to their past 3 months of gnerated Adsense fees - so send a DMCA Complaint to Adsense as well... since they agree to only place ads on pages of their own copy Adsense forces them to counter-claim and if they don't or won't you get the cash.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do… excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. — Aristotle |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
A newer site will have problems with it... A website under a year old is not likely to be considered the original if the other website has been around longer and has a few good links.
__________________
-Google reveals search volume data to public - Google search traffic tool -SeoChat SEO FAQ - Read the FAQ. It may answer your question. -Ultimate Guide to Link Building - What you always wanted to know! |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Tried to call them? http://www.alexa.com/data/details/?url=www.weebly.com Found another one: http://investing.businessweek.com/research/stocks/private/snapshot.asp?privcapId=34283563 Last edited by -mj- : October 30th, 2007 at 02:21 PM. |