1. Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Unnatural links to your site

I received this from google yesterday.
    What does this mean anyone know?

"so for this incident we are taking targeted action on the unnatural links instead of on the site’s ranking as a whole."

It says they are devaluing those links that point to my site and not my site. What do do I actually need to do.
    Then it says to request a review, but it they are devaluing those links then why the review.?

(Unnatural links to your site—impacts links Some incoming links
    Google has detected a pattern of unnatural artificial, deceptive, or manipulative links pointing topages on this site. Some links may be outside of the webmaster’s control, so for this incident we are taking targeted action on the unnatural links instead of on the site’s ranking as a whole.)
  3. Not An Expert
    SEO Chat Hero (2000 - 2499 posts)

Hello!

Hmm...this is interesting. I'm not an expert, so I can't provide immediately useful advice. I'm sure one of our smarter members will chime in soon though!

I did do a little digging and found:

1. This video from Matt Cutts which I think is about the topic (or a similar one), from 2013.
    2. And This article from Search Engine Land which I believe is about the type of manual action that you mention. I think they have a screenshot here of the full text of the manual action so you can compare it to yours.

On the totally speculative front:

Did you hear about the recent string of manual actions targeted at unnatural outbound links?

My first (and totally unsubstantiated) thought is to wonder if your issue is somehow related, but on the other side of the aisle so to speak. Although yours would be the first case I've heard of. It could also be totally unrelated.

I could try reaching out to some official sources from the SEO Chat Twitter account, if you're comfortable with me doing so.