|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |
||
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
This Site May Harm Your Computer
This Site May Harm Your Computer - this term is now become a matter of worry for me.
One of my clients site, where I am working for all most 6 months. The site is about medicine and were doing fine. But recently the site is in serious problem. The term This Site May Harm Your Computer is coming along with the listing in Google. The site:
What can be the reason of this?Kindly share your thoughts. Regards new_seo
__________________
360° Marketing - Customers through Content! |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
something in the https headers perhaps? Try downloading a tool called fiddler, it shows you all the headers of a website and the files it downloads, so there could be something being called which shouldnt etc
|
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
also i notice yahoo are using macaffe, one of my websites has a warning on that. What are google using for this or is it their own made? And do they have any docs or request to re-evaluate the url?
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
No ideas!!
It may be helpful http://www.google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=45432
__________________
Believe those who seek the truth. Doubt those who find it. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi ns
There's a thread about it here which might help with ideas; there's also a link (in my 1st post in that thread) to more info' from google support.
__________________
ClickyB "The quality of the visitor is more important than the volume".. Egol 22nd Feb 2008
New to SEO / SeoChat? Start : HereForum Rules & Posting Guidelines Canonicalisation Solutions |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Is that in google? I haven't seen any search result like that.
maybe your site is very big! I mean,it may have flash or videos that google may think that can harm someone's computer. See this one http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000859.html
__________________
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Thanks ClickyB for that nice link. How could I miss that nice post. May be as this is my first personal experience of this kind of situation, my brain is not working in the right direction. Any way I would like to ask another thing, hacking can be a problem? After some research I think the site has been hacked , as I found some 3rd party javascript in the site. Just like to know your opinion mates. |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
I would contact your host right away about it (either they put it there or you've been hacked) ![]() Last edited by ClickyB : July 9th, 2008 at 08:15 AM. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yea i suppose bringing in external scripts could make google believesomething is not right. Hence i suppose it stays that it MAY harm your computer but they do not know?
Last edited by seomonkeymanocp : July 9th, 2008 at 08:17 AM. |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
But you posted in that thread I linked to... saying "I've read lot of questions like this, and as I read the answers from other guys in this thread. I think I have found the answer..." (I deleted the post because the "answer" you gave was quoting an answer already given) ![]() |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks ClickyB, hosting of this site is not our concern.
I have informed client about that and ask him to do the needful. |
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
I have one experience with this, suddenly one the site servers we are working suddenly displays some kind of a virus/malware warning detected real time by my PC antivirus. I thought it was just from other sources, but everytime we visit the site and load it in the browser, the warning is again displayed. Weeks have past, when we checked the indexed pages in Google. All of those URL's has labeled: THis site may harm your computer. What we did is change the access login immediately. Check the site code and found a malicious javascript code. We scan all files and clean those codes. It is now back to normal.
__________________
SEO Specialist - SEO Company UK SEO campaign return of investment calculator "You don't have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great "-Ziglar |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
I made a post too, describing the procedure, since I've been through this hell
http://forums.seochat.com/showpost....706&postcount=4
__________________
Link Diary - Build Links Fast & Easy. Similar to Linkmarket, with option of three way link exchange and anchor rotation. **"Save SEO Industry - GO VIRAL!! - Tips and Tricks ."** **"Live, not just to survive, But to Rule."** Last edited by ClickyB : July 10th, 2008 at 05:11 AM. Reason: Linked URL |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Yes, this is most likely the problem. There is a file that (no offense as a client did this and pissed me off) you have to download and i have no doubt these are targeted by whois data. Once downloaded by the site owner/whois peep it looks for ftp, username and passwords to send back and access a website back end. I won't even call it a hack because they login to a website using the site information, conveniently provided by, usually, the site owner themselves. As a web company, you get the blame even though it was the stupid customer that downloaded the malicous code....lol Most of the sites you see like that are user caused/self induced pain. Noone wants to say "Ohhhhh, I remember I got this email about blah blah and thought I needed to install this blah blah." nope, nope "Someone hacked your servers and you just cost me blah blah in lost income......lol Yeah, kiss me arse...lol (ok, hadddd to rant about that experience) Solution: Have the site owner scrub all computers used to access the server. Change the username and password Problem solved. If you don't scrub ALL the computers they use, the site will get accessed again. Very important. Yahoo has something that flags sites with "email spam" or something of the like. I almost think that one is worse given how much we all hate email spam....lol
__________________
Cheerios! New to SEO? See the FAQ! My Disclaimer: Don't Listen To Me - I know nothing! |
![]() |
| Viewing: SEO Chat Forums > Google > Google Optimization > This Site May Harm Your Computer |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|
|