1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Site in PHP...best way to optimize for Google

Hello,

I'm new to the whole SEO thing and, from what I've gathered in my reading, crawlers do not do well with dynamic pages generated by databases. In our case this is specifically PHP. We have just spent months designing a new website in PHP in order to integrate the use of credit cards et al. Is the only solution to (re)create the static HTML pages we used previously?

Furthermore, does the fact that our site is completely in PHP matter to directories as opposed to crawlers? Please forgive me for my ignorance in advance but there's a lot here and, well, I feel like I'm lost at sea.

Thanks.
  3. Resident Black Hat
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

The issue with search engines crawling dynamically generated web pages is that usually they contain something like this:

?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=148164

Up until recently, Google didn't cache that very well or crawl it very well. I think I saw a thread that they may be doing it more now and some suspect it's because MSN is doing so.

Regardless, you can easily get around this 'problem' entirely through the use of modrewrite (for unix based systems) or isapi rewrite (for iis based systems).

Good luck figuring out regular expression syntax though

G-Man
  5. Extremely Googled

Google has never had a problem spidering dynamic pages. I run a site with a forum on it (vBulletin, same as this site). All the pages are in PHP with query strings and Google has never had any problems indexing it for the past few years.

Google does, however, spider dynamic pages at a slower rate because dynamic pages usually involve database interaction and Google doesn't want to kill the sites it spiders. There's no prcatical difference between dynamic and static pages otherwise (just make sure that if you use sessions that you don't have all your URLs show the sessionID because that can cause problems).