Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Seochat, pls help me debunk this SEO company

Dear SEO chat,

I am a simple UX consultant and given the task to review a 50 page SEO Report of a SEO Company.

I have a feeling the company doesn't really have any expertise.

My reasoning:

1. I am given the task to make sense off their document.

2. Large portions of their document contains trivia like "minify js and css, use sprites" and long tables of keyword analysis.

3. Red flags you guys have taught me to recognize a mile away like "You need keywords in META Description tag, you currently have 0" and "Keyword density" - analysis.

I am aware that keywords in description might increase click through, so Ill give them the benefit of doubt on this one...

Allow me to quote a piece of advice from this document, which costed more then my services for the whole year:

"
    5.2. Number of visitors to the site 1 of 1 element passed
    Search engines might look at web site usage data, such as the number of visitors to your site, to determine if
    your site is reputable and contains popular contents. The Alexa.com traffic rank is based on three months of
    aggregated traffic data from millions of Alexa Toolbar users and is a combined measure of page views and
    number of site visitors. Traffic Rank #1 is assigned to the most-visited site on the Internet.
    "
    Im no SEO but Alexa???? FFFUUUUUUUUUU

Here another gem:
    "
    6.2. Google +1 1 thing to do
    Google confirmed that its +1 button will help them to re-order search results.
    "

I was probably drunk at that time, but last time I watched all of Matt Cutts Videos for fun he said +1 doesn't do jack ****.

Obviously I am overly negative towards SEO companies, so I come to you for advice.

Basically I need a few tricky questions to ask, only a true professional would answer correctly.

What questions should I ask as a test?