1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question SEO Linking Questions

Okay, please bear with me, I am new to SEO. I have some burning questions that I would
    appreciate your help.

Is it true that the only thing that matters in a BL is the anchor text?

I thought that G. only showed BL from web sites that are PR4 or above?
    I am seeing several BL from web sites that are less that that?

When G. does a BL update, is this when the G. dance begins or do they have
    no relationship?

What will the BL update do for me if anything?

Does it hurt my PR to link to non-related sites?

I know these are simple questions, but I want to get it right.

Thanks for you help
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

No to 'only'. It is the best type of link to get (one with anchor text) but all links to your site count.

Google shows a selection of backlinks to a site. It's not clear how that selection is made. It 'used' to be widely believed that it showed PR4 and above but that is not the case now.

no relationship?
    The 'Google dance' died out last year. It is believed today that Google now updates continually. A backlink update is simply Google showing you a selection of backlinks. Hopefully more backlinks than from the last backlink update but as it's unknown why only a random selection is shown it's not of that much use to you. A more accurate way to determine your backlinks is to run the link: command on the site in Yahoo or AllTheWeb.

I've yet to see it do anything to my sites, but there are people here that suggest their sites jump or drop slightly in rankings a couple of days prior to a backlink update and this jump or drop relates to whether their backlinks jump or drop.

Today? No, I don't think so. But who knows about the future? It is without doubt better for your visitors if you link to related topics so if it's not already built into the Google algo it could be in the future.

Good luck