1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Removing google results entirely possible?

Hi All,

I have a client who wants to remove an article about her from search results for her business. A quoted a price for moving the result onto a lower page, but she says another company have told her they'll remove the article completely for $2000.

I'm fairly new to this, so maybe there's a method I'm not aware of, but as she's already exhausted legal avenues, how could they possibly do that?

Are they perhaps putting backlinks to it from link farms and then reporting the article to google? Seems very dodgy but that's all I can think of. I'd like to be able to tell the client they are either doing something illegal or just lying to her.

Thanks
  3. SEO Consultant
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

What's the context of the article? A bad review? Trademark infringement? etc?

Let's see what we're working with first, then we can offer a viable solution.

Lord knows I'll save the question "Why did you pick up the client if you don't know.."...
    www.joshz.net - SEO Web Design | On-Page SEO | SEO Audits & Reports | Link Building
    BASED IN ATLANTA, GA. Contact: Skype/Phone/Email (Discounted rates available for SEOChat members only - email josh@joshz.net)
    Please EMAIL me at the above address and do not send Private Messages. I rarely check them and your message will be lost.
  5. No Profile Picture

Apologies for the other thread, it didn't appear on the forum after I sent it, didn't see anything explaining why, still nothing an hour later so I gave up on it.

The article is about a minor criminal investigation into my client, completely unrelated to her business, but the article mentions her business so it shows in results.

I picked up the client on the back of some development work, and didn't see the need to point her in the direction of someone else when I'm looking to get into SEO work anyway. Thought I'd learn by doing.