1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Publish a 10,000 word guide on one page, cumulatively? Or save it for all at once?

Do you know of any clear dangers of publishing a Buyer's Guide in progress, instead of all at once?

It's to be a 10,000 word guide on a smart home security system setup.

My hypothesis is: Publishing it early will give it a head start on its life. I can add to it each day over a period of two weeks. Google will finally index it in its final form.

I think there's nothing to be lost. No risk. But I'm a mere newbie.

What do you think?
  3. SEO Since 97
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

I wouldn't use one page, I'd break it down into categories and have one page link to the different categories.

Comments on this post

• JohnAimit agrees
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

You give us little info on which to offer definitive advice.

I would support Test-ok's advice.

Start with an "index" or contents page that summarises and links to what is in each section of your guide then create a bunch of topic specific pages. You may end up with 11 x 1,000 word pages with this strategy. Do it right and you should attract many times the SE referrals as a single 10,000 word page.
  7. Digital Marketing

Bad advice so far: You guys are always pontificating "BUILD BEST OF THE WEB CONTENT AND THE LINKS WILL COME" then you tell this bloke to dilute his awesome sauce content! At least tell him to test it. Here's what I would do: Put it on one page, make sure all of the elements of SEO are properly placed on the page and see how it ranks organically. Maybe it will be good enough to draw its own links naturally!
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

As said, we have little info to go on...

The first question should be how and where will readers want the information?

It could be that some will only read it online but others may want a downloadable version for offline access.