1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Penguin Recovery Questions (My own thoughts)

Hey,

Since my last thread got closed I've started a new one, no idea why I don't see the problem with it.

Someone did reply to say I was asking questions already answered in this forum and I should search, but surely by that logic if I have a question I should just google the answer and not post in a forum?

I imagine most questions relating to seo have been asked here more than once? And via google I'm sure I could find an answer to anything, but since its more of an ad engine than a search engine, its not always easy to find what your looking for. Same applies for searching internally on forums, I have done this with limited success many times.

Anyway I will answer my own questions, but I'm no expert so was really looking for someone who knows more about seo than me, but maybe it will help someone.

My questions are:

1).Are links from poor sites hurting your rankings, or are they ignored/carry no value?

Answer, probably not unless they are REALLY bad. They are more likely to be valueless.

2).How would you identify a site as "bad"?

Answer, Does it rank? What's its domain authority/page rank/. Does it look bad, or a good resource for webmasters?

3). What is the correct anchor text distribution, I generally hear no more than 20% unnatural anchor, is this correct?

Answer, I would say this is about right, some people go higher or lower, 10-15% targeted keyword is probably safest.

4). If you have an EMD for example "RedLeatherShoes.com" is your brand name "Red Leather Shoes" and could you therefore legitimately use the anchor keywords "Red Leather Shoes", and can you use "Leather Shoes" or "Red Shoes" or "Shoes Leather" as these are partial "brand matches"

Answer) I have no idea what the answer to this question is, or whether you can have a brand name and it not even be mentioned in the url.