1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Page title and meta doesn't mean a thing?

Hi old guns out there,

I heard that page title and meta don't work or mean very little until you have better PR?

is this true? If so, that means I should put building inbound links my first priority then?

I would like to get some basics, I am pretty new to SEO as I just started my website.

Also, another question is that for a website sells quite few different things like digital camera, clothes, guns all under one roof will take longer to rank up in PR or not?

Thanks
  3. Roll the dice.. and live
    SEO Chat Mastermind (5000+ posts)

The page title <title></title> is the single most important on-page factor (other then content) that effffect rankings. Try to include your major keywords here but make sure the title reads well when it comes up in SEs.

Metas have a role BUT it has nothing to do with rankings. Metas do not effect rankings. Unless there is something you specifically need to tell a search engine ie do not display ODP directory listing information, then on the whole metas can be completly left out.
    Live the moment
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by gazzahk
    The page title <title></title> is the single most important on-page factor (other then content) that effffect rankings. Try to include your major keywords here but make sure the title reads well when it comes up in SEs.

Metas have a role BUT it has nothing to do with rankings. Metas do not effect rankings. Unless there is something you specifically need to tell a search engine ie do not display ODP directory listing information, then on the whole metas can be completly left out.
    but page title values more if you get better PR than you had before?
  7. Roll the dice.. and live

Originally Posted by ejordan
    but page title values more if you get better PR than you had before?