1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

news syndication articles. How does one get an article in?

Hi,

Very new to SEO. Very intriguing stuff.

I started studying a few days ago. On-site optimization is fairly easy to achieve and straight-forward.

Off-site optimization not so easy.

Since incoming links are huge for Google, I went to Google and searched our competitor's inbound links. MOST of the competitor's inbound links are coming from web/print "newspaper" sites, from a SINGLE and word-for-word identical article that appears in:

www theotherpaper com
    www torringtontelegram com
    www finditelpaso com
    www journalnow com
    and MANY others

All of the above or almost all have a Google PR of 4 or 5.
    The competitor itself has a Google PR of 4.

The author doesn't have an name. (Almost) all the articles on these news(paper) sites start with initials like (BPT), or (NEWSUSA), or (ARA), or (NAPSI), etc.

So the question now, since this is a question post:
    How does one get an article in this circle or other circles of syndication news? And then, after NewsUSA for example adds article to their directory, do each of the web newspapers choose to include it or not? Or is it automatically added to their newspaper in the appropriate category?

Regards,
    Costica
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Regardless of who is supplying the articles, at the end of the day each news site is still deciding what it runs so you'll have to consider your content carefully regardless.

The best thing to do is to continue research. Most of these syndication sites are thinly veiled PR syndicators. NAPSI, for instance, will distribute your release (in the form of an editorial featurette) verbatim or they offer the service to rewrite a variation. NEWSUSA will syndicate your content for money as well.