1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

New to SEO, many questions

Howdy folks

Sorry in advance if this turns out to be a long winded post.

I'm new here. I've been a web designer for 15 years but I never got too far into SEO stuff. But I just recently started an online store (selling CDs and band merchandise, etc) and I really want to be listed good on all the major search engines for obvious reasons. My goal would be that if someone were to type in a band name or album, my site will pop up in the list hopefully somewhere on the 1st page.

So starting with google.. I set up my google webmaster account and submitted my site. My ecommerce software generates my xml sitemap automatically which is nice. Anyway, I submitted it over a week ago. I have thousands of product pages and my sitemap has over 15000 links. However, when I look at my webmaster stats, it says there's only around 1800 urls in the web index... why? can't it just add everything? What could be preventing Google from adding my whole sitemap? Or does it only add urls in chunks and one day it will come back and decide to add more?

Every product has keywords in it that at the very least contain the artist, album and genre. As I edit each product individually I'm also adding meta descriptions too. My page titles contain the band and album too, ie "Metallica - Master of Puppets CD - Bleeding-Ear.com"

The only way I've been able to see my site appear in google at all is to put my URL in the search box.

I also submitted my site to bing, they indexed ONE url so far.......

Anyway, just wondering if anyone has any tips or ideas on how I can get my site indexed and featured better? At this early stage I don't mind being low on the list at first, but I would like to at least BE on the list somewhere. Can anyone help? my site is bleeding-ear.com if you want to take a look at the code or whatever.

Thanks

Tim

Comments on this post