1. No Profile Picture
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Need some advice/help on improving my company's Google ranking

I own a small, NYC-based shopping tour company. For the past few months I've been working very hard to get my website noticed by Google, and I'm frustrated that I cannot seem to rank higher than the 7th page of results. I come up first when searching for my company by name, but when typing in any important keywords, such as "new york shopping tours," I'm low on the totem pole. The only people who will search for me by name are existing customers--getting ranked by keyword is crucial in order to bring in new business!

I'm not a web designer by any means, but I've done lots of reading about SEO, and have followed every piece of advice regarding tags, keywords, backlinks, site content, blogging, etc. I am really not sure what else to do. (Also, I don't know if there is a way to get Google analytics to "recognize" backlinks--it tells me I have 39, when I can personally count far, far more than that...)

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to include a link to my site in this forum, but there is one in my profile. I would love input from anyone who might be able to offer suggestions on things I can do to improve my visibility in Google.

Thank you!
  3. SEO Consultant
    SEO Chat High Scholar (3500 - 3999 posts)

Originally Posted by rdnyc19
    I own a small, NYC-based shopping tour company. For the past few months I've been working very hard to get my website noticed by Google, and I'm frustrated that I cannot seem to rank higher than the 7th page of results. I come up first when searching for my company by name, but when typing in any important keywords, such as "new york shopping tours," I'm low on the totem pole. The only people who will search for me by name are existing customers--getting ranked by keyword is crucial in order to bring in new business!