1. Registered User
    SEO Chat Explorer (0 - 99 posts)

Question Multiple Domains to one site ???

I am a developer and as a pet project I started up a company called SolarObjects, LLC (www.solarobjects.com). I have had SolarObjects for about four months and have obtained a page rank of 5/10 however I am only getting around 200-300 hits a day and I am looking to increase traffic.

During research I noticed that if a site has a keyword in the domain it gets a high placement even if it does NOT have a good Page Rank.

An example is if I do a Google search for “telescope” on the first page I find the site telescope.com, which has a page rank of (3/10) however every other site on that first page has a rank either 7 or 8. Again on the second page every site has a rank of 7 or 8 except one, telescopecasual.com, which has 5/10. Since telescope is a highly searched keyword I am sure that these sites get a lot more traffic than I do.

Most of the good domains are taken but I just purchased “AstronomyTelescope.com” as it has two very highly searched keywords. But I don’t know what approach to take to implement this domain. I want to keep the domain SolarObjects.com live because I don’t know how Google views sites like these and I don’t want to get de-listed.

Can I simply have DNS point to the same IP address for SolarObjects?

Or should I make a copy of my website and give the new copy a new IP address and have it use the same database?

Or am I just wasting my time?

How does this affect page rank? I am guessing each domain will have its own Page Rank.

Does anyone know if Google pays attention to how many domains point to the same website?

Any help would be appreciated.

Jeremy Mitchell
    jeremy@JSMitchell.net
  3. Give me Backlinks
    SEO Chat Adventurer (500 - 999 posts)

Welcome to the forum, jmitch47!