Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

A Message For Google

Dear Google,

I am a webmaster. I have a website that is 5 years old. My website covers one segment of a popular search term. It is rather unique in the information it provides, as much of it isn't available elsewhere. If it is available, it's sprinkled around in small amounts, and difficult to find. I've got it all together in one place, convenient. I've had pretty good rankings in Google over the years, and I appreciate that very much.

I don't do anything sneaky on my site. I'm not an expert at optimization, I just try to build a good site that is easy for my site visitors to navigate. I didn't set out with the purpose of designing the site to rank well in any search engine, as I figured the SEs would do their job and find my site, and list it in the results when people did a search for something I have information on. That is the way it's supposed to work, isn't it?

I understand that there are webmasters out there who will take advantage of a good thing, and pull sneaky tricks to try to get their pages ranked higher. The first time I heard about this was when lots of sites started stuffing "Pamela Sue Anderson" in their meta tag keywords because she was one of the big news stories at the time. I guess that was back in the days of big payments for ad impressions, so people didn't really care WHAT got people to their site, they just wanted the ad impressions. I never did such things, as I felt that was not helpful to people searching. Anyway, I see that as the beginning of the battle between the search engines and the webmasters.