Quote from http://forums.searchenginewatch.com/...hp?threadid=48 original post by Orion

Hello. I'll introduce myself as Orion. I'm a formal scientist, with special interest in AI applied to IR technology. Let's start this thread with a brief description of keywords semantic connectivity and what it can do for improving success across search engines. My goal is that SEO/SEM R&D departments once for all start using scientific tools rather than mere rumors and 2nd-guessing thoughts disguised as "seo expert tips". Sorry for my 2 cents in advance. I'll like to present the key concepts then anyone interested can start commenting.

According to Fuzzy Set Theory ("Modern Information Retrieval"; Baeza-Yates; Ribeiro-Neto, Addison, 1999), the degree of term co-ocurrence in a database is a measure of semantic connectivity (SM) and can be used to build thesaurus for the database. Some engines use term co-occurence in their query expansion algorithms. Understanding how one can measure term co-occurence could be used to carefully select keywords semantically connected in a given search engine database. As an added benefit, SM makes unnecessary the excesive repetition of keywords (keywords spamming).

Let's us start with the simple case of two keywords (k1 and k2). Later on we can expand on other cases (more than 2 keywords, keywords transposition, entropy relevance, etc).

Let n1 and n2 be the number of search results containing k1 and k2, respectively and n12 is the number of search results containing both terms. (One actually does a search for k1 then for k2 and finally a composite query consisting of k1 and k2). Using geometry arguments and fuzzy sets, it can be demonstrated that there exists an index, termed correlation index, c, such that

c = n12/(n1 + n2 - n12)

Thus c oscillates between 0 and 1. Term correlations increases as c approaches 1. This allows us for in a given search engine or IR database