1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    SEO Chat Discoverer (100 - 499 posts)

Question JAVASCRIPT REDIRECTs - Guru Help needed

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to HTML (but have 20 yrs prog. exp. in other lang)..
    Have read dozens of "opinions" on the subject of Javascript re-directs & there IS a bunch of half "truths" & conflicting info out there...So.. here's the question(ie. situation)....
    Have a "new" (2 mos. old) website. The website uses an index.html file with a html redirect (NOT a Javascript redirect) to my homepage which is located in a subfolder on the server (ie. the homepage is NOT in the root directory).
    My webpages use a Javascript re-direct ( it's the "meta refresh" type I think.. but not sure) that tells the webbrowser (ie. the "sAgent") which webpage version to view.
    [ It's NOT a 301 type redirect like the one you would use in the .htacess file to go to another website.]
    PROBLEM: Googlebot is only spidering ~160 KB (NOT MB) of my 20MB website and then exiting... AND after 4 googlebot visits I'm NOT in the Google index yet.
    QUESTION: Is the Javascript redirect causing this exiting behavior ??? OR is something else causing it ??
    I really need a DEFINITIVE answer from someone with some real, extensive, practical, "in the trenches" experience on this issue. Something more than just the 'theory based" opinions I've been getting so far.
    Any guru help is appreciated.
    Please check out my website via my signature or profile link.
    Many thanks
    RGPHNX
  3. Contriving Muser
    SEO Chat Good Citizen (1000 - 1499 posts)

I don't really understand why you're using all these redirects - you have a domain and the index page is redirected to a directory using an html redirect (302?) The landing page then uses javascript to redirect (301?). But why? Why not just keep it simple? Maybe Mr. G. Bot is as confused as I am?

Having said this, the site is very young and G. Bot has a lot of pages to read each day...